Goodbye for now, Europe.

Wow.  Four weeks in Europe literally flew by.  A month seems like a lengthy amount of time, but when you consider all the things we saw and did, well, that time was gone in an instant.  Now almost a year and a half later, as I reflect on this trip, I am still in awe of the amazing sights we saw and find myself thinking “wow, we really went there.”  If I could own a vacation home somewhere in Europe, I would be incredibly happy.  There are so many beautiful places to see and experience, and so much rich history in Europe that we barely began to cover in our 4 weeks.  If I could, I would return in a heartbeat.

The only thing that made going home less painful was my 1st Class Flights home.  Yes, you read that right.  Laura and I flew back to New York on Aer Lingus (via Dublin) and then my flights on American from New York to Seattle were First Class.  Before I talk about the amazing experience on First Class, let me just dote on the Dublin Airport for a moment.

We flew from Paris to Dublin, and in Dublin, we went through US Customs Pre Clearance.  This meant once we landed in NYC we had already cleared customs.  It was amazing!  Seriously, bypassing customs after a lengthy International flight… there is nothing quite like it.

After an eventful night spent in New York, it was off to the airport for my final two leg flight home.  I had airline miles and was able to snag First Class flights home for about $200 after my miles.  I flew LaGuardia to Dallas Fort Worth and Dallas Fort Worth to Seattle.  I have never felt so pampered in my life.  The dishes were real, I was given warmed nuts once I sat down.  I was greeted by name.  They even gave us ice cream!  It was truly glorious!  Here’s some pictures!

img_5364img_5369

img_5372

img_5379

img_5375

img_5380

Also, I can’t really complain about the beautiful view from the plane as I approached the stunning PNW.

img_5393

I still love to soak up the memories of this whirlwind trip, and continually find myself amazed that it actually happened.  After years of talk, and months of dedicated planning, we accomplished what we set out to do and made many beautiful memories that we will carry with us the rest of our lives.  What a crazy, wonderful trip this was.

Vienna8

Leave a Reply

